Why Pakistan not hosting cricket world cup 2011

Why Pakistan not hosting cricket world cup 2011?

The Cricket World Cup 2010 was also supposed to be co-hosted by Pakistan, but in the wake of the 2009 attack on the Sri Lanka national cricket team in Lahore, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to strip Pakistan of its hosting rights.The headquarters of the organising committee were originally situated in Lahore, but have now been shifted to Mumbai.Pakistan was supposed to hold 14 matches, including one semi-final.Eight of Pakistan's matches have been awarded to India, four to Sri Lanka and two to Bangladesh.
Pakistan was stripped of its rights as co-host of the 2011 World Cup by the ICC on 17 April 2009 due to ongoing concerns about the "uncertain security situation" prevailing in the country.

The PCB can lose $10.5 million due to the tournament being taken away from them.
On 9 April 2009, PCB chairman Ijaz Butt revealed that they had issued a legal notice to oppose ICC's decision. However, the ICC claims that the PCB is still a co-host and they have only shifted the matches out of Pakistan. Pakistan have proposed that South Asia host the 2015 World Cup and Australia/New Zealand host 2011, however this option has not found favour with their co-hosts and hence seems unlikely.

Allocation of matches between India,Sri Lanka and Banladesh:

On 11 April 2005, PCB chairman Shaharyar Khan announced an agreement about the allocation of games.The original plan involved India hosting the final, while Pakistan and Sri Lanka would host the semi-finals.and the opening ceremony will take place in Bangladesh.
After being stripped of its co-host status, Pakistan made the bid to host its home games in the cities of UAE as a neutral home venue. This is in response to the fact that the last few months of cricket that Pakistan has played, has been in the cities of Abu Dhabi, Dubai and Sharjah. The pitches in these stadia have also been developed to suit the Pakistani players. This would not harm any timing schedules as there are regular flights from the city of Mumbai to Dubai.
However, on 28 April 2009, the ICC announced the re-allocation of matches originally intended to be played in Pakistan. As a result, India will now host 29 matches across eight venues including the final and one semi-final; Sri Lanka will host 12 in three venues, including one semi-final; while Bangladesh will stage 8 at two grounds as well as the opening ceremony on 18 February 2011.
On 1 June 2010, the first phase of tickets for the 2011 World Cup in India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh have been put on sale following a meeting of the tournament's Central Organising Committee in Mumbai. The tickets have been priced affordably, with the cheapest costing 20 cents US in Sri Lanka, the committee said.

Satellite Image

Popular Posts